The Empire Football League
The Empire Football League

The Granite State Destroyers of the East Coast Football League (ECFL) defeated the Tri City Spartans of the Empire Football League for the AFA's Northeast Championship at Union College 3pm, November 2. This thrilling historic game was decided at the 4 minute mark in the second period of overtime with a final score 18 to 12. There should be no question in anyone's mind regarding league competitiveness or whether the correct teams were chosen; both organizations mirrored each other; Team rosters were frozen after league championships. This game was not affiliated with the plethora of all star/bowl games that have evolved over the years !!

The AFA Northeast Championship game streaming is still available for viewing if you missed the live broadcast. Live viewership for this game peaked at 800 worldwide. Access the archived streaming by

To view photos, click Northeast Championship Photo Album

The following AFA Hall of Famers and Alumni supported this event as game sponsors........
• Dave Fleck
• Rick & Concetta Sager
• Steve Bailey
• Mike Galeo
• Utica NightHawks

Our tournament Director, Jim Harmon is reviewing the feasibility and logistics for additional AFA Member League Championships. Project Plan updates will follow over the next few weeks............

"2019 AFA Northeast Championship game, Nov 2 in Schenectady, NY. Score tied 12-12 in double OT with 5 minutes left. 45 yard bomb from Thaddeus Brown Jr. to Matt Nowak for the win! Tough, well fought battle for the players and coaches on both sides! Truly one that will be remembered."


AFA Alumni Membership remains at $50/year.....

this membership is open to anyone and everyone that, at one time or another, had been (or still is) involved with a semi-pro/minor league team and/or league. If you are interested in a 2020 membership application, just click here!

All new active alumni for 2020 were acknowledged during the AFA's Northeast Championship Game 11/02.  

We want to acknowledge the following 2020 alumni memberships/donations to date:

- Tim Smith

- Robert Harrison (Premium)

- Angel Lopez

- Brian Carder

- Robert Beckwith

- Terrence Rollins

- Rick Sager

- Concetta Sager

- Mike Galeo

- Mary Lockhart

- Roman Strzala

- Ray Almeida

- David M. Fleck

- Jerry Levine

- Steve Bailey

- Larry Schmidt

- Thomas Robinson

- Mike Carnevale

- Craig Ochoa

- Joe Hajducky



Powered by Phoenix Internet Services