The Empire Football League
The Empire Football League


For more than 30 years, George Ashcraft has spent his summers on the sidelines of Red and Black games. While that streak, which began in 1989, ended last summer due to COVID-19 canceling the Empire Football League’s season, Ashcraft is looking forward to beginning a new streak this August.

The Empire Football League announced Friday that the league will begin its 2021 season Aug. 7. The league consists of six teams, in the West Division is Watertown, Northern New York Grizzlies and Syracuse Smash; in the East Division is the Tri-City Spartans, Hudson Falls Greenjackets and Plattsburgh North Stars.

“It’s always exciting to be around it,” Ashcraft said. “As far as to say, ‘now do I look forward to this season?’ Yeah, because it’s real now. If everything comes to fruition, we’ll be playing our first game on August 7, play a seven-game schedule, make it to the playoffs and win a championship. That’s the goal.”


Powered by Phoenix Internet Services